Moonrise Kingdom

I saw Moonrise Kingdom the other day and can’t say enough good things about it.  Written and directed by Wes Anderson (who also did The Royal Tenenbaums, Rushmore, The Darjeeling Limited), it’s about two rebellious 12 year-olds who fall in love and run away which sparks a search party to go after them.  It’s set in the summer of 1965 on an island off the coast of New England.  It’s an adorable story with a quirky sense of humour.  It has a stacked cast, and feels very much like a play.  The most incredible thing about it is the attention to detail and how everything is so perfectly shot.  The sets, props, wardrobe, everything is so meticulous and amazing.  I love 1960s style so I was ooing and awing at everything.  The colours are amazing too.  Some people criticize that it’s too perfect and a distraction, but I really appreciated it.  You have to see it to judge for yourself.  Definitely worth seeing in the theatre.  JD

1 Comment

Filed under Style, Things I Love

One response to “Moonrise Kingdom

  1. I loved this movie too. It was so sweet.
    I sort of want to carry my cat around in a fishing basket now.

Leave a Reply

