Road Trip! Montreal

How was your long weekend?  We hope you had Monday off.  We both had getaways planned and mine was a road trip to Montreal, one of my favourite cities.  I went for Osheaga – the 3 day outdoor music festival, but I also enjoyed a lot of the city.  I’m starting to get my bearings around Montreal which really excites me.

Osheaga was a BLAST.  The weather could not have been more perfect and there were over 30,000 people enjoying the sun and sounds of all the amazing bands.  Highlights included Broken Social Scene, Janelle Monae, Eminem, City and Colour, Tragically Hip, The Sheepdogs, Death Cab for Cutie, and the list goes on!


Here’s a snapshot of the non-Osheaga things I did and what I would recommend for your next visit….

Stay:  The Opus Hotel. This boutique hotel is in a good location and has a trendy chic vibe to it.  But beware – don’t plan on getting a goodnight sleep because the party-goers at KoKo will keep you wide awake till the wee hours.  Lucky for Hotel Opus, my plan was not to sleep.


Day 1 was spent wandering around Old Montreal and Old Port – the prettiest areas in my opinion, before hitting up The Scandinave Spa – which was PURE heaven!  Go for a relaxing massage and then bask in the hot and cold pools, followed by relaxing stint in the appropriately titled “No Stress Zone.”  After leaving the spa I felt so zen and couldn’t stop raving about the experience.


Right around the corner from the spa we ate classic poutine and sipped raspberry mojitos at Terrasse Nelligan – the roof top at Hotel Nelligan.  The sun was warm and the view of the water officially put me in vacation mode.


For dinner we checked out Dominion Square Tavern, a super cool laid back restaurant that serves British infused French Canadian fare.  The ambiance was perfect as the use of dim lighting and lots of candles made the room glow.  The vibe was great, food superb, staff friendly, and most importantly, they played good tunes.


Following dinner we went for cocktails at La Distillerie, where they serve cocktails in mason jars.  I don’t like to compare places to other cities, but it reminded me of a bar in Manhattan’s Lower East Side.  Very cool, and again – great tunes!


Day 2: Go for a stroll down St. Laurent and Prince Edward to stumble upon a quaint little park called….I can’t remember what it was called, but it has a beautiful fountain and everything was peaceful.


We did a little bit of shopping on St. Catherine where I found a few unique finds including a poncho for Fall.  It was an impulse purchase but I don’t care because I’m pretty excited to wear it.

At night we had dinner at Le Local in Old Montreal and drinks at a very interesting spot called Le Saint Gabriel – it’s an old hotel with stone walls converted into a chic restaurant, lounge, and speakeasy in the basement.  Great spot not to be missed!


We did a whole bunch more, but those are my highlights for now.  If you have any suggestions for me, I’d love to know the spots you’ve checked out so I can add them to my “next time I go to Montreal” list.  Merci, JD xo

8 Comments

Filed under Places To Go

8 responses to “Road Trip! Montreal

  1. Christina

    Looked like soooo much fun!

  2. Poised Petal

    Stayed at the Opus Hotel last year & loved the look + the location.
    Looks like you guys had a blast – how can you not when you’re in Montreal!

  3. Bon-Ton

    Great post, JD!
    I’ll defo. consider your reco’s.
    Thanks!

  4. Poutine rocks! I miss Canada :(

  5. I’m looking at your pictures and am SO missing poutine right now…

  6. Lara

    Hey! You were on Prince Arthur and the square is called Carre St-Louis :)

  7. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed isnt working today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account and got nothing.

Leave a Reply

