Photography and Brunch

We’ve been having typical Vancouver weather in Toronto these days and it kinda sucks.  Alas, we’re Canadian and manic weather won’t stop us from living our lives.  I ventured out in the drizzle, and encountered all sorts of surprises that made me love living in a vibrant city…and made me forget that my perfectly blown out hair turned into a fluffy mess.

While walking along Queen street I was happy to see the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival signs in a ton of windows.  I can’t believe it’s already been a year since this great festival graced our city.  Time flies that’s for sure.  Contact is an annual festival of photography in Toronto during the whole month of May.  In over 200 venues, you can find over 1,000 exhibits and it’s free to the public.

I popped in GalleryWest to see Lee Henderson’s Still Life with Thanatotic Animals.  The artist is fascinated by “the end of the road” and how death is reflected in our collective histories.  I liked how the prints were hung along thin cabling – it reminded me of prints hanging in a dark room, which is something I’d like to do myself one day.


Following that I went to Swan Restaurant for a delicious eggs benny brunch.  I tend to go to my favourite places all the time, so it was nice to try somewhere I hadn’t been before.  The food was delicious, service was great, and I love the Art Deco decor.


Overall a great little afternoon despite the rain.  Keep your eyes peeled for the amazing photography hanging right before your eyes.  Check out http://www.scotiabankcontactphoto.com/ for more info. JD

4 Comments

Filed under Places To Go

4 responses to “Photography and Brunch

  1. Steph

    JD, you look/are gorgeous! I love the leather jacket with the little white shoes so much!

  2. Those eggs look delicious!

Leave a Reply

