Movie: Blue Valentine

I had been reading about the movie Blue Valentine since it’s release at Sundance Film Festival last year (January 2010). I tried to get tickets to see it during TIFF in September, but had no luck. So I was pretty happy that I finally got to see it on the weekend, as it was just released at Scotiabank Theatre downtown TO.

It’s about a contemporary married couple (Cindy and Dean) charting their evolution over a span of 6 years by cross-cutting between time periods.

I really don’t think this movie is the general public’s cup of tea, but I absolutely loved it. Don’t be fooled by the words “Valentine” and it’s tagline “a love story.”  If you’re expecting rainbows, sunshine, and happy romance – don’t see it. If you are uncomfortable with depressing things like dogs dying, abortion, abuse, old age, broken hearts, etc. you might want to opt for Yogi Bear instead.

So why did I like it so much? First, the acting is ridiculously good. Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams are so believable it almost feels like you’re watching a documentary. Second, Ryan Gosling. Enough said. I also like the fact that the story is raw and not so perfect like most movies out there. It’s gritty and sad, but explores real-life issues (see paragraph above). I like that we see pieces of the story and not a clear beginning or end. I like that there’s no resolution and that you can interpret it in your own way imagining how the characters would continue. I dig a movie that gets you thinking like that. It has layers, like an onion.  And last but not least, I absolutely adored one of the recurring songs they played. It’s called You and Me by Penny and the Quarters. J’ADORE! If you like a peeling of the onion type of movie, I definitely recommend it. JD

4 Comments

Filed under Things I Love

4 responses to “Movie: Blue Valentine

  1. Christina

    I can’t wait to peel an OniOn!

  2. I also wanted to share this interesting story about the band who wrote the song You and Me (Penny and the Quarters)
    http://www.numerogroup.com/dig_sub.php?st=p&ar=Penny+%26+The+Quarters

  3. Heather

    It’s amazing how good looking Ryan Gosling has become, remember the :Breaker High” days? My sister and I used to watch it on YTV after school, good times.

Leave a Reply

