3 Chicks & 4 Eagles

Last night I had the pleasure of being at the Rogers Centre for the Dixie Chicks’ and Eagles concert.   I was beyond excited to see the Dixie Chicks as they have been a favourite of mine since high school. I was a little surprised though when Natalie Maines greeted the crowd with a shaved head. I couldn’t find the full explanation for this, but I read online that last year she shaved it to promote cancer awareness.  If that is true, she is an example AND a hero in my books, if not, she still looked great.  The Chicks were unbelievable live – they took my breath away and left me wanting more.  I belted out Taking The Long Way but was disappointed they didn’t play Voices In My Head – it’s my fave.  Next time I will be there front row.

I have to admit I was very unfamiliar with the Eagles…until they hit the stage. I was expecting them to play Hotel California and the rest be a big question mark.  However, it turned out I recognized everything they played and was able to sing along with the 50,000, 50+ (mostly) crowd who rocked out harder than the tweens I’ve seen at Britney Spears concerts on coca-cola sugar highs.  My friend Jess and I decided Witchy Woman was one of our favorites.   Go home, burn some incense, throw pink scarves over your lamps and listen to this.  CM

p.s.  Shame on me for not including Maines on my list of Women Who Rock.

3 Comments

Filed under Places To Go

3 responses to “3 Chicks & 4 Eagles

  1. Now that sounds like one awesome concert! I am not a fan of country music, but I have been a fan of the Dixie Chicks since they came out, I guess it was in high school. And to have the Eagles too is awesome! I am familiar with them because of my dad. He is all about the classic rock!

    Now I have Sin Wagon and Witchy Woman in my head.

  2. My Dad too – that is how I knew all the songs! I love country and it started with the chicks :)

  3. Jenn

    I am a huge fan of the Dixie Chicks as well- kind of by accident- took my mom to a concert and now I cannot get enough… :)

Leave a Reply

